2 replies to this topic

#1 elmiller

elmiller

Small Orange

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 06 March 2010 - 07:18 PM

Recently, a friend had his site hacked and his content was replaced with some pr0n. Since I run a site for a school, I'm extremely paranoid about getting hacked. I created a shell script to help me monitor changes to the files on my site. I run this as a cron job every half-hour in the hopes that if files are changed, I would be the first to find out. The script runs the find command then emails the results only when files are modified within a predetermined time. This also helps me monitor the files that my users uploading to WPMU.

I'm fairly new to shell scripting, so I'd appreciate someone else to take a look to see if there are any loopholes or ways to optimize the script. I'm also wondering if it is ok to run the cron job even more often. The command executes very quickly so it doesn't seem like it would overload the server.

#!/bin/bash

#This script finds files that have recently been modified and emails the results
#Version 1.3 (March 6, 2010 at 15:45)

#Directory to search
myDir=~/public_html

#Set frequency of command in minutes, this should match how often you run the cron job
myFrequency='-30'

#email address for mailing the results
myEmail=email@address.com

#Create datestamp for subject line
#This makes each subject line unique to prevent message collapsing in Gmail
myDate=`date +%y-%m-%d`
myTime=`date +%H:%M`

#Test if files have been edited
fileCount=`find $myDir -mmin $myFrequency -type f | wc -l`
if [ $fileCount -gt 0 ]
then
	#Write the subject line and set correct form of the word "files" (singular or plural)
	if [ $fileCount -eq 1 ]
	then
		mySubject="Attention! $fileCount File Modified on $myDate at $myTime"
	else
		mySubject="Attention! $fileCount Files Modified on $myDate at $myTime"
	fi

#execute find command and email the results
	find $myDir -mmin $myFrequency -type f | mail -s "$mySubject" $myEmail